An update on the arbitrary Immigration and Customs Enforcement (I.C.E.) raids within the refugee community in Atlanta. The persecution of Somali refugees at the hands of the executive branch of the U.S. federal government has now been covered by WABE in this interview with our partner Omar Shekhey of the Somali American Community Center.

Over the next few days we will continue keeping you updated on this story as it evolves and also provide the contact information and guidelines on how to raise our collective voice against these atrocities.

Please take a moment this morning to call Senator Perdue letting him know the outrageous actions of I.C.E. do not represent our state or his constituency.

Please call Senator Perdue at 404 865-0087 and state…..

Please tell the Senator I am deeply upset with the raids conducted by Immigration and Customs Enforcement this month in the DeKalb County area. Please take a public and vocal stance against I.C.E. and their tactics to terrorize the refugee and immigrant community and if they do not cease these activities I would like for the Senator to take steps to defund the I.C.E. budget going forward.

After calling please send an email to Senator Perdue with the following (or a personal version of it) with the drop down menu topic “Immigration” and the subject line “I.C.E. Raids”:

Senator,

I am deeply disturbed and appalled at the actions of Immigration and Customs Enforcement in our state. Our federal government is terrorizing our refugee and immigrant community and splitting up families through its arbitrary raids and deportations.

Please take a public and vocal stance against I.C.E. and their tactics and if they do not cease these activities please take steps to defund the I.C.E. budget going forward.

Thank You,

Your Name

(Remember to change Your Name to your name.)

